Highs & Lows, Ebbs & Flows

Standard

As much as one falls into daily routines, it would be hard to ever consider life as static. It moves forward, and there is little choice than to go along, whether with open arms, or kicking and screaming. Since I went back to work, I was having a hard time finding solid footing. It seemed I was being pulled in too many directions, and I think the stress and busyness of the holidays was not helping me in trying to get centred.

Now that the new year has come and gone, life is on the upswing. Work has been busy which has been surprisingly good, most of the time. I am one of those people who functions best under moderate pressure. If I am not busy, I tend to slack, and procrastinate because if I’m not busy, I’ll have time to get stuff done later! So busy equals productivity. Plus, I am in sales, and a New Year means a fresh slate and new targets, which I am pumped for. Since I came back so late in 2016, I had no hope of reaching any targets (mine are cumulative over the year) so it was more just about getting myself established again, and set up for the New Year to come, so admittedly, I was just coasting until the calendar flipped so I could go hard in 2017. I am pumped and ready to go, feeling good, finally feel like I have a better handle on balancing life and work (don’t get me wrong it’s not perfect and I do feel harried at times, but it’s better).

Just when I am feeling good and on top of things, J is feeling down. He had a rough day at work that really got to him and has been feeling down in the dumps. He is trying to find the motivation to go to the gym, but it’s not happening. He doesn’t sleep well, and that can effect everything (I know, ask me how well I slept during fertility treatments). I think he is feeling stuck with his job (again) and slightly overwhelmed sometimes. It’s like we can never be on the same page at the same time. When he is up, I am down, and vice versa. I suppose this isn’t so bad, if we were too synced, we would be both be down at the same time, and it’s hard enough when one of us is down, never mind both. We take turns picking up the slack for each other.

Last week I noticed a friend of mine seemed to having a rough go as well. She’s a tough cookie with a hectic life and she usually seems to manage with ease. She confided that she’s not sure her current job is what she needs right now, and I think she may be feeling a bit lost not to mention slightly overwhelmed. It’s hard to know what to do for someone in that sort of circumstance. Not just career dilemmas, or being overwhelmed, but ambiguous life difficulties in general. I sent her a card, wrote a nice message, let her know that I, among her other friends, am there for her. Sometimes I think that’s all that can be done. I can’t fix her problems for her, but I can stand beside her.

Obviously perspective can effect ones attitude to life challenges. Whilst going through infertility treatments, it wasn’t so easy to tell myself to just keep plugging along (though really, that is what happened because what else can you do?). I didn’t really allow anyone “in” when we were in the depth of IVF, and I don’t even know what I would have wanted from anyone, had I confided. Just be there, I suppose is all anyone can do. You can’t live someones life for them, or take away their pain. The highs are great, the lows are sometimes inevitable. Even if it’s just a minor low, or a bad day, life can’t be great all the time and that’s ok.

Everybody sails alone,

But we can travel side by side.

-KT Tunstall “Heal Over”

 

4 thoughts on “Highs & Lows, Ebbs & Flows

  1. I like your observations about how we help each other and the highs and lows that come to everyone. I’m glad you are feeling better. I always do better with a goal too, though I also think it’s important to acknowledge the “I’m lost and overwhelmed” times as they can tell us it is time for a rest or change or just to live in the moment.

  2. Christina

    I have been reading your blog for a few months now. I stumbled upon it on a day I was feeling really down. I would love to speak with you more about your journey. My husband and I have been on this journey together for 5 years and I another 5 prior to that. I would love to speak to someone on the other side. Either way, thanks for the encouraging words.

  3. Thanks for the great article, I know this will really help women (and their partners) going through infertility.

    Four years ago, I had a beautiful baby boy after 7 years of trying unsuccesfully.

    I was 41 and had suffered from ovarian cysts for many years. To make matters worse, my partner had a sperm motility disorder.

    In spite of all this, I managed to get pregnant naturally and had a healthy pregnancy with no complications.

    Articles like this helped me a lot.

    Something else that really played a big part was this:

    http://www.journalofnaturalhealth.com/infertility

    Hope it helps!

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

