#Microblog Monday’s: Yes, yes, all the yes!

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

                          *******

My Microblog Monday post isn’t my own post, and the linked post is not micro, but it couldn’t wait until Friday’s blog round up;

My response to “Women Who Wish They’d Never Had Kids” and “Why Parents Hate Parenting”First of all, thank you for replying, responding to the “Women Who Wish They’d Never Had Kids” Marie Claire article. For easy reference, right here: http://www.marieclaire.com/culture/a22189/i-regret-having-kids/ And you might also want to check out the I Regret Having Children Facebook page, here: https://www.facebook.com/IRegretHavingChildren I am also going to reference “Why Parents Hate Parenting,” here: http://nymag.com/news/features/67024/index5.html When I stumbled upon the Marie […]
https://theunexpectedtrip.wordpress.com/2016/10/03/my-response-to-women-who-wish-theyd-never-had-kids-and-why-parents-hate-parenting/

I couldn’t have said any of this better myself.

*Edit, I should say I loved The Unexpected Trip’s commentary, rather than the articles themselves. 

3 thoughts on “#Microblog Monday’s: Yes, yes, all the yes!

  1. Interesting topic and articles. People are going to feel what they feel: disappointment, frustration, disgust, anger, and people don’t stop feelings things because they become mothers. I don’t there’s anything wrong with feeling regret you have a child, or even not liking being a mother, all the time, or even at all. (Though that would really suck!) The real choice is what a person does with those feelings. I think “regretting motherhood” is an existential crisis and an opportunity to evaluate one’s life choices, expectations and outlook. It’s no excuse to be stop trying to be the best parent possible. Kind of like what people say about marriage: falling in love is easy, but staying in love takes a lot of work.

    I wonder how much of this comes down to the cult of the individual: me first, my happiness, my choice, my life, my this, my that. Do we have to unrealistic expectations that we are always going to fulfill every personal potential, never have to make sacrifices, always be happy? Maybe that’s the bigger problem.

  2. It makes me sad reading about those parents who regret having kids as maybe the kids also at times sense it and feel unwanted. If people don’t want children then they definitely shouldn’t be pressured into it. Most of my friends who’ve had kids say it’s harder than they imagined but rewarding and they don’t regret it, though one friend said she mourned her life before kids. It’s hard for me to understand it a bit, still being in the middle of infertility. Yes I could go out after work on a whim and sleep in at weekends, but I’ve done that loads and now I’m so ready to be a mother! And most of my friends are parents now anyway so it’s not like there are crazy fun parties the whole time that I would be missing out on.

    • I agree, it would be terrible to regret having children. I don’t regret it at all. Not saying it isn’t hard but I wouldn’t change it. For a while I was on the fence about having children at all, but I felt as though I would have regretted not having children. Then infertility really showed me how much having a child meant to me. Parenthood is tricky, and it’s not for everyone. I give kudos to those who know it’s not for them and make no apologies about it.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

