#Microblog Mondays: If You Could Go Back…

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

*******

I try to make difficult life decisions by choosing the path of least regret. During IF treatment, what would I regret had I done, or not done? That way I can’t (hopefully) look back and say, “coulda, woulda, shoulda”. Obviously one can only make decisions based on the information they have, and sometimes it’s not all of the information, so what then?

I’ve been contacted by an up and coming fertility website to be a contributing writing, and I’m trying to tap the community to see what sort of information you wish you had during your IF struggles, or if you’re still in it, what are you looking for? What sorts of things did you find that helped you? I’m hoping to put out some original, and helpful content that maybe wasn’t there for you, or me but can be there for those who end up down this path, so my ears are open to suggestion!

5 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: If You Could Go Back…

  1. Great idea! I feel like I wish I had gotten a second opinion sooner. That clinic loyalty isn’t always the best thing. It’s so hard not to shoulda coulda woulda with infertility. I don’t think there’s anything that would have gotten me ready for transitioning to adoption sooner…but I wish that I’d sought different medical opinions that might have revealed more information before we couldn’t financially continue and keep hope alive for adoption.

  2. Hard to say…..I guess at different points I’ve felt there was no choice or such finality to the few options presented: but three years on things are much more grey than black and white.

  3. I guess I wish I’d known realistically the odds of having a take home baby for each cycle. It may sound negative, but clinics push the positives so often that the true odds are often ignored.

  4. I think it would be good to know more about what all the values mean, AMH, FSH etc, and all the sort of things that can happen during an IVF cycle (OHSS, too few eggs, empty follicles, embryos not surviving etc ). I think people should also get a blood panel to check stuff like vitamin levels and thyroid beforehand which is often ignored. And maybe also just the emotional side all the ups and downs

  5. I wish I had known how worth it would be to go out of the area for ‘the best of the best’ rather than subject myself to failure after failure with doctors who didn’t have the skill-set or the laboratories to help me. In retrospect, the journey seems unnecessarily complicated and I wish I had just gone to the top sooner. And I wish it was easier to tease out who/where to find the best care because this is otherwise a stressful, time-sucking process of trolling forums and blogs to get recommendations and learn how to interpret SART data to see past manipulative patient selection. If we could count on physicians to refer us out when we’re out of their scope, it would all be easier, but I have NEVER had a clinic do that. It should be easier to navigate.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

