#MicroblogMondays: An Olive Branch

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

*******

After last week’s #MicroblogMonday post, I received a lot of comments from people relating to my situation; having a friendship suffer due to infertility. Most agreed, as I had suggested, that it might be time to let this one go. Since I published the post, I’ve really been thinking about this friendship; it’s been bothering me for a long time, that it’s withered to almost nothing. The last time my friend and I spent time together, I went to her house, I offered to come, I was the one who reached out (first to find out why she’d been giving me the cold shoulder, then to make plans). Since we still haven’t really reconnected I decided I owe us one last try, so I reached out once more, and we’re taking our kids to the park (near me this time) this afternoon. We’ll see how things go, and afterwards I’m going to let the chips fall where they may. At least I’ll know I gave it a shot. My rule of life is to take the path of least regrets, and I feel like I would regret not giving this friendship one more chance.

8 thoughts on “#MicroblogMondays: An Olive Branch

  1. I think it’s great that you gave the friendship one more try. I’ll be honest, and I’m probably in the minority… especially among women. I’ve always had a kind of “Que sera sera” attitude towards my friendships. I feel like most of mine are free floating. My best friend is someone I’ve known for 35+ years. We rarely talk but we both still consider each other our best friends and we’re always there for each other when we need to talk. There are plenty of times when we’ve drifted away from each other (emotionally & literally-we haven’t lived in the same state in 20 years) but we always drift back as needed. I feel that the right people are in your life when you need each other, then everybody naturally drifts on to the relationships that are needed in the next phase of their lives. It’s not a sad thing at all. In fact, I’m always amazed at how many people life has brought back into my life–often former acquaintances not even friends– who had such an unexpected positive impact on my life.

    • Maybe I need to have more of that attitude because throughout my life I’ve definitely had a lot of friends come and go, but not a lot of long term friendships that go the distance. I don’t want to feel like I am using people when I need them and drifting away when I don’t (or have other people think that) but I think people change, grow and evolve and sometimes that takes friendships in different directions, I suppose.

  2. I wish you the best. It’s hard to lose friends…no matter the circumstance. I’m never one to give up on a friendship lightly.

    • I’ve never really been in a position to be giving up on one, or feel as though one is not working anymore. If I’m not longer close friends with someone it usually just happens sort of organically and I don’t worry about it.

  3. I like this. Maybe your friendship will just settle into catchups only rarely. Perhaps as a way of honouring what you once had. Or maybe you’ll decide that’s it. Whatever, it is important for you to feel you’ve not made a decision too soon, and that you can be at peace with the decision.

    • I certainly didn’t want to turn my back lightly. I think I’ve given it proper effort and I’ll just have to see where time will take it, but I don’t feel as though we’ll ever be as close as we were.

  4. Good for you. I hope the afternoon went well, and that there are more get togethers in your future. And, if not, that at least you know you tried.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

