An Emotional Release

Standard

Two days after baby C was born I posted news of her arrival on Face.book. I knew it was finally time for me to be open about how our sweet baby girl came to be. I struggled over what to say, and how to say it. I didn’t want to come off as a bitter, ranting infertile. Though the urge to lecture the masses was strong, I didn’t want to detract from the birth of our child.

In the end I went with this;

Aug. 26 at 6:15pm we welcomed our baby daughter Camira Grace to the world weighing in at 7lbs9oz. After years of struggling to conceive, we managed with the help of an amazing team of Drs and nurses of the XYZ Regional Fertility clinic. We are overjoyed that she is finally here, excited and nervous for what lies ahead but she is certainly our greatest adventure to come.

I also posted a picture of her as a day 5 embryo and a newborn shot, side by side and labeled. Admittedly it was a bit vague and focused more on the fact that she’s here as opposed to what we went through. But for me, it was enough. I’m a private person and that hasn’t changed but I felt obligated to not hide how our baby came to be. People need to know getting pregnant, and having a baby aren’t guarantees in life and I hope I’ve opened some people’s eyes to that. 

I ran it by J before I hit post, and after I sent it out into the world it felt like a weight off my chest. We held each other and the tears flowed. I was surprised at the emotion that came forward with this revelation. At that time I think it all hit me; we were home with our new baby, we finally made it. I don’t think that we beat infertility per se, but we survived it and persevered  against the odds.

We didn’t get a huge reaction to the infertility aspect of the post, mostly just congratulations on our new baby. A few people commented on our journey with nothing but positivity (not that I expected anything negative). And that’s fine. Our truth is out there now and we are moving forward with the new addition to our family. 

10 thoughts on “An Emotional Release

  1. pcosandpizza.blogspot.com

    I am also a private person and prior to the twins’ birth never mentioned on Facebook that we were pregnant! I also wanted to allude to our journey when we finally announced they were here. My post was more vague than yours and only stated it was a long journey to get here, but made me feel good to finally be “open.” Yep I still cry when I think about how we got here, when I read posts like yours, etc.

    • I didn’t even announce our pregnancy on FB until I was like 7 months along, I debated doing it at all because I hated seeing pregnancy announcements myself. It definitely feels good to be on the “other side” so to speak but the emotions are definitely still there. Hope you are enjoying your little twins!

  2. Jane Allen

    When I announced my pregnancy on Facebook, I came out of the infertile closet, complete with blastocyst pic as well. I felt that we had been through too much and the infertility community meant too much to me for me not to address and let anyone imagine that we had gotten knocked up the old fashioned way. A few who already knew my IF issues, sent private messages, but for the most part no one else addressed the infertility announcement.

  3. I understand this. When we brought our baby home, I finally was ready to discard the leftover IVF meds. Before that point, it was always ‘what if’. It was an incredible release. I finally felt ‘safe’ in my life and for the first time, truly happy. Congratulations again x

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

