#Microblog Mondays: Flutters

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

*******

For the past few weeks my pregnancy apps have been telling me I can expect to feel flutters of movement soon, so when I think of it I have been paying keen attention to see if I felt anything. For the first couple weeks I was disappointed that I felt nothing. Then one day I had what could have been general stomach rumblings, gas movement, ect. Except it wasn’t, it just felt different but very subtle and infrequent. That was about a week and a half ago. The feeling is still quite subtle but I can count on it more after dinner when I am quietly sitting on the couch, or at bedtime. It’s almost like someone is softly drumming their fingers inside my uterus. It’s very weird, but very cool.

Last night she gave a few little kick kicks, and then one mighty WOMP! It was still very soft, but definitively different. J asked me what I was doing because I was laying really still and staring off into space. I told him I was bonding with Poppet* and he gave me a bit of a frowny face because it’s much too soft for him to feel anything on the outside yet and poutily exclaimed that I get 9 months of bonding. It’s a new and exciting time to actually be able to feel her, and I can’t wait until her kicks get stronger and more frequent (I’m sure I’ll regret that wish when she’s digging into my ribs or kicking me in the bladder). I really can’t wait until J can feel her, he is so enthralled with her, and my belly and I know he feels a bit left out now that I am feeling her, and he’s not. Another tangible step in the direction of pregnancy progression!

*I will continue to call her Poppet in my blog, we use her real name in the privacy of our home but until she’s here, it will be under wraps.

12 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: Flutters

  1. I remember feeling my little ones kicking and moving around for the first time. I still treasure those memories. Congrats on reaching that milestone.

  2. I loved those movements. Congratulations on reaching that milestone. I always felt the early kicks felt like popcorn popping.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

