#Microblog Mondays: Daily Doldrums

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

*******

Life has been pretty quiet lately, besides telling our family that we are finally pregnant, and dealing with prenatal appointments we haven’t had a lot going on. We have had a busy couple of years, besides dealing with infertility treatments (which can monopolize a lot of time) we’ve had weddings, nieces born, many trips, and just life in general. It used to be on the weekends and days off we had lots of running around to do, and there was never enough time to get everything done.

But now, since we came home from Hawaii, first saw our baby’s heartbeat, and settled back into routines, life has slowed considerably. Perhaps it’s because we are watching this pregnancy progress day by day, that time feels slower. We don’t seem to have much to occupy our time, so we spend lazy days at home (which to some may sound great, and for a time it is but after a while it’s just boring). J gets restless, he is not the idle type. We don’t want to get too ahead of ourselves in planning for baby and I want to enjoy this time, being pregnant, just the two of us, and quiet downtime that will surely disappear once baby comes.

We’ve been living the past two and a half years in a constant state of waiting; for the next cycle, next treatment, in a heightened level of stress and willing time to move forward to the point where the goal is finally achieved. Once you reach that point, the sudden halt in anything infertility related is a bit of a jolt. Not that I wish to be back at that point in my life, so for now, I’ll take boring any day.

10 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: Daily Doldrums

      • It’s sort of like pregnancy limbo though. You are pregnant, you should be excited but for once you enjoy the unusual calmness before you need to prepare for baby. I feel it too. Can’t say it’s a bad thing. Life will become hectic again soon enough.

      • Yeah I try and enjoy it, I’m just bored sometimes. Part of it too is I have zero motivation to do things I could (mostly chores or things I am procrastinating). So it’s my own fault I’m bored. I could find things to do if I really wanted. I barely even read anymore. All drive to do anything has left me. Don’t know if that’s a pregnancy thing or what.

  1. We definitely did this. We kept saying we needed a hobby – since “trying to get pregnant” was apparently our previous hobby. But it was hard because I was sick, and no one else knew I was pregnant. Lots of Netflix and nights on the couch for us those first few months!

    • Ha, totally! I never really thought of it that way, but I guess it was our hobby, every waking moment was spent towards trying to get pregnant so now it’s mission accomplished…Now what?

  2. It is an odd transition from TTC to bring pregnant. Not used to it here, either. But I have found in all this newly found down time we are connecting more as a couple, renewing the bond that was weakened through infertility and loss. Important when gearing up for this life change.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

