#Microblog Mondays: Beta Edition

Standard

Not sure what #MicroblogMondays is? Read the inaugural post which explains the idea and how you can participate too.

*******

This morning I went for my blood draw at the hospital where my clinic is located, which they advised me to do so they could get the results ASAP. My transfer nurse suggested that I call the clinic after I did my bloodwork to let them know it was done so they could call me as soon as they had the results. I expected to hear from them later in the afternoon, as is their M.O. My phone rang around 9:30 when I was driving to work. The nurse informed me that my beta was positive. I am indeed pregnant. It was at 131, a solid number. I am so relieved.

I peppered her with questions about what to do now, as the new protocol at my clinic is that they do not do any additional monitoring beyond the first beta and then they pass me off to my family doctor. My family doctor sucks, and I haven’t seen her ever since I started going to the clinic. I called her office to see if she was working and could order my next requisition (which my clinic wants me to do in the next couple of days) and she isn’t back until Jan. 6. I asked if another doctor could request the requisition and the receptionist said no, that I would have to go to a walk in clinic. So forget them. I will go to a walk in clinic for the beta, and have them refer me straight to an OB where I can go for my 7 week ultrasound.

The nurse told me based on my transfer date, I am 4 weeks today and my due date is Sept. 2, 2015. Merry Christmas to us!

*And for your viewing pleasure, our BFP pee stick (7dpt5dt)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/4d3/61480602/files/2014/12/img_14871.jpg

37 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: Beta Edition

    • Yeah, it’s a now provincial rule, as they are not an OB clinic, just infertility. The nurse felt bad, and is trying to help me out as much as possible. Thank you! Still seems surreal.

  1. Congratulations! That’s great news right before the holidays. That is so frustrating that your own OB office is so unhelpful, but I hope you can find a place that will treat you with the care you deserve and see you through your betas and early ultrasounds. Happy holidays to you two and your little nugget!

    • Thanks! There are new provincial rules on my clinic not being able to continue monitoring me (as they are strictly a fertility clinic and not an OB’s office…whatever :p), it just changed in Nov. and the nurse was very sympathetic and wished she could help me.

  2. nonsequiturchica

    Sorry that your clinic is dropping you like a bad habit but hopefully you can get in to see an OB at 6 or 7 weeks. Congrats on a great beta!

  3. Yay- great news! Congratulations!!! So strange that your clinic won’t see you at all anymore but glad you’re being proactive about getting the bloodwork, ultrasounds etc that you need!! 🙂

    • Yeah, my clinic has sort of a pass off package that they send to whatever doctor I need it to go to, so they did tell me to do my next beta, and when to do my ultrasound, ect. I just don’t have anywhere to send it at the moment!

  4. Great number! And shame on your clinic. I’ve never even heard of that, and I’ve really samples ALL the bi-coastal merchandise. Most importantly, congrats, preggo!! May it it be a strong little critter!

    • Ha ha, well I’m in Canada so it’s a little different. It’s not a private clinic, and because they are a fertility clinic, and not an OBGYN, they’ve been told they can no longer do any monitoring past the initial beta. So both our hands are tied unfortunately. They’re being dictated by an overseeing body that doesn’t understand the chaos they have caused. But thank you, I will try and manage and just be happy with the positive news.

      • Ah, I see – I didn’t realize you were in Canada. I must have missed that somewhere. I hope the OB search is a relatively easy one!

  5. Congrats on a great first beta! Although sorry about the clinic. Is that a Canada thing? I hope that everything goes well with this pregnancy. Merry Christmas indeed!

  6. That’s wonderful news. I feel honoured to have been privy to this part of your journey. Wishing you the very best for the next beta and ultrasound.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

