#Microblog Mondays: Giving Thanks

Standard

Today is Canadian Thanksgiving, also known just as “Thanksgiving”… I am very thankful for so much that I have in my life today. Things could definitely be worse and there are those that would envy what I have. But rather than list the things I am thankful for in a somewhat humble brag-ish way I’ll say I’m aware of what I have and feel gratitude for it.

On the flip side of that coin, things could be better. I have some major stressors in my life at the moment, infertility being the biggest/worst. I’m not going to say that just because I have gratitude for the good in my life that I don’t feel sad for what I’m missing. I know things could be worse, but sometimes they feel shitty enough as is without trying to slough off the grief because I am fortunate in other parts of my life. There are many many lucky people who will never have to experience the pain of infertility and I wish I could have been one of them.

All in all it’s about balance. I try not to take for granted the good I have in my life, but I allow myself to acknowledge the shitty aspects of my life as well. Trying not to let either side win out, getting buoyed too high, or dragged too low. I give thanks for the clarity and insight to see my life for what it is, imperfect.

12 thoughts on “#Microblog Mondays: Giving Thanks

  1. I love your thoughts on balance. Far too often, I feel like people try to make us feel guilty for being upset or disappointed in parts of life. It’s all fair. Appreciate what you have, but also realize it’s ok to long for something else too. I really connected with that line.

      • Thank you. I am sitting here still crying about how I wish I felt more thankful for Thanksgiving but I just don’t. I am trying so hard to find positives but it’s just not in me today. Or yesterday in fact! I was happy I didn’t have to blog yesterday and used the holiday as an excuse to not have to be upbeat. I just couldn’t deal with having to blog about how low I was feeling at that moment. Thank you for putting online what I wasn’t able to.

      • Sometimes when I’m low, blogging is exactly what I need. I’m glad I could express what you were feeling. Also, I noticed on your blog that you’re from Calgary, I’m in Edmonton!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving. (Yes, just Thanksgiving. Since I would feel weird if people started calling the other one American Thanksgiving.) It is entirely possible to be happy and sad at the same time. Or grateful and stressed. Life is a mixed bag; rarely only one thing.

  3. You don’t have to apologise for feeling sad or stressed about things in your life, when you also acknowledge the good and the beauty and the love. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. a

    Happy Thanksgiving! Life changes from one moment to the next. While it’s good to acknowledge the good and be appreciative, paying attention to the bad and the stress and the inequity is necessary too. I think that’s how we learn from life – by acknowledging that bad things happen and finding ways to deal with them, while at the same time being grateful for the good that we have.

  5. Meta

    Thank you for your thoughts. I’ve recently come across your blog and really appreciate your honesty about how challenging and stressful this all is. It is just so comforting to know there are others out there who are experiencing the same feelings as me. Thank you! And happy belated Thanksgiving!

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

