You Can Plan a Pretty Picnic, but You Can’t Predict the Weather

Standard

Why, yes I did pluck the title of my post from an Outkast song (I’m sorry Miss Jackson, wooo, I am for real!). Sorry, I was having a throwback moment. But anyways, when I heard that lyric I really liked it’s message (despite the fact that it is talking about baby mamas). You can have all the best laid plans, but not everything is under your control, and sometimes you just have to roll with it. Plans don’t always work out as you had hoped, and I am learning that. As much as it drives me crazy, there are only certain things I can control, and one of them is how I react to what life gives me.

I have a hard time with that sometimes. I want to stay in bed, under the covers, or throw myself on the floor kicking and screaming. But I can’t do that, because I’m a grown ass woman. So everyday I put on my big girl pants and march out into the world. Some days are easier than others. Right now, I feel mostly calm, I had one full cycle back on birth control, my crazy TTC tendencies have started to ebb away, and it’s a nice feeling. We still have hope to be able to move cities, and if not we’ll probably move forward with IVF (but I’m not going to think that far ahead right now).

J had his phone interview with the recruiter. He said it wasn’t too long, about half an hour, and he thought it went quite well. It was mostly situational questions, what would you do in such and such a situation. J’s had enough experience in his current position that he doesn’t have problems answering these types of questions. The recruiter told him that she had a phone meeting scheduled, with the location that is considering him, on Thursday for her to discuss the applicants. So we hope to hear something from the location either Friday, or early next week. So here’s hoping they at least consider him from that point, which should lead him to a final interview.

So right now we are just living and enjoying. I went for brunch with 7 of my girlfriends on Sunday. It was awesome that we all managed to get together, despite our widely varying schedules and the fact that most of them have kids. Actually only myself, and two other ladies don’t have kids. One does not want kids, and one is not married yet, and not yet at the point where she is planning on having kids. Not to mention two of the ladies are currently pregnant, and one of them with twins (they both already have kids as well). But suffice it to say, there was a lot of kid/baby talk at brunch. I tried to just roll with it, and enjoy the fact that after brunch I got to go home, do whatever I wanted for the rest of the day with no other responsibilities.

Sorry, this post doesn’t really have a point, for now just living life. Trying to enjoy the picnic, even if there is some rain.

*Sidenote: I’ve been watching the Little Couple lately, and it makes me feel like a whiney baby. They have to live life as little people, which presents its own challenges. They weren’t able to have biological kids, so finally they were able to adopt two children, and then she finds out she has cancer. And they just keep trooping on. I hate most all reality tv, but they are amazing. Even though I find them sort of annoying. Does that make me a bad person?…

6 thoughts on “You Can Plan a Pretty Picnic, but You Can’t Predict the Weather

  1. I also went out with friends this weekend and was simultaneously jealous that they had kids/glad I didn’t have to worry about a babysitter for my cat. Also, I am currently watching “The Little Couple” and I’m surprised that they haven’t shed any tears (on camera) about the cancer diagnosis–I think they are very brave. It makes me feel like a boob, because I bawl all the time. Fingers crossed for your hubby! XO

    • Ha, yes I read your post about the shenanigans that went on. Sounds like you had fun (but paid for it)! I am not a big cry-er but I think in their position I probably would. At the same time, I don’t like cry in front of people, so I don’t think I would want to do it on camera, in front of the world. Then again, I would never do a reality show. So…nevermind lol.

    • Yeah, it’s not a show I regularly watch, because they do annoy me to some extent, but I’ve seen the past couple of weeks episodes where they’ve been adopting their daughter. I think that has more interest for me, than their “regular” lives. I can be very inflexible when I want something, but in this case I definitely have no choice. So just call me Miss Easy-Going! Ok, maybe not quite there yet…

  2. Hi! I loved your comment about the Little Couple. I actually just watched it for the first time last week and it was when they were adopting their daughter in India. I got totally hooked. They also make me feel like a baby as they are handling everything way better than I would be. I actually thought about doing a blog post about them – ha ha! I look forward to following your blog 🙂

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

