You Shouldn’t Need A Reason For Not Having Kids

Standard

Apparently other people are better at articulating my thoughts than I am lately, but that’s ok. A friend of mine posted this on Facebook, as she just recently got married and is already being hassled about having children. I don’t know if she doesn’t want to, can’t or just hasn’t decided yet, but I can feel her pain. She’s only been married for 3 months and it’s already getting to her. I reposted the link on my Facebook page and it’s gotten a lot of attention. I’ve not spoken out about myself falling into one of those categories, but a lot of people commented on it, in support of people who choose not to have kids. I’ve replied back with the comment that for some people, it’s not a choice. Some people may put two and two together and that’s ok. I’ve dipped my toe in the water, and so far it’s not so bad.

Here is the link, because it seems the reblog link is not working

http://thoughtcatalog.com/jamie-berube/2014/02/you-shouldnt-need-a-reason-for-not-having-kids/

Thought Catalog

ShutterstockShutterstock

I wore a maxi dress to work today. The frequency in which I wear dresses to work is about once per month. I am more of a jeans and blouse kind of girl. So on the spontaneous day that I wear a dress like I did today, people notice and sometimes talk about it in the same way they might if I showed up with a tattoo on my face. Most days I don’t mind this. Today was not one of those days.

It was mid-morning and I was chatting with a coworker about my decision to go to 7/11 last night for a glazed doughnut (or two) at 11:00 p.m. I ate the doughnuts right before bed (I had had a day, okay?) and this morning when I woke up the first thing I saw was my crumpled up 7/11 doughnut wrapper on my nightstand staring at me, shaming me…

View original post 1,486 more words

2 thoughts on “You Shouldn’t Need A Reason For Not Having Kids

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

