Spinning

Standard

Well, I don’t really even know what I want to say at this point. Let me give you a run down of the days leading up to “The End” (for now).

As you all know, I cheated and tested on Sunday at 11DPIUI and got a BFN, but could have been too early (probably not in my mind). So anyways, J and I agreed that I would wait until Wednesday (14DPIUI) to test again. We were both pretty nervous in the days leading up, but managed to push it out of our minds, plus I was fairly certain it was going to be negative anyways. We went to the mall on Tuesday night, partially because I needed something, but also just as a distraction. It was a nice time killer, but I think J realized what I was doing in trying to distract because on the way out he asked, “Tomorrow is the day, right?”. As much as we both tried to put it out our minds we knew it was coming. That evening when I went to the bathroom before bed, I had a bit of a pink tinge on the toilet paper (I usually always have that before AF arrives).

When I got into bed, he asked my what I was thinking. And I told him, “you know, the usual”. I didn’t explicitly tell him about the pink tinged TP, but I told him I was almost certain that it was going to be negative, just based on what I was feeling going on in my body. I told him I wasn’t trying to be negative, but just preparing us for the most likely outcome. He nodded, but I could see that he was still holding out hope. We faced each other in bed, his eyes red, and filling with tears. Mine dry, and resigned.

Amazingly, I slept fairly well, and got up early enough to test before J went to work. I came into the living room where he was watching TV and he asked, “is it bad news?”, I just replied “yeah”. I went to him and we just stayed on the couch holding onto each other for a while. We didn’t really say a lot. We were mostly just trying to process it all, and think of what would happen now. I think he was trying not to breakdown, but as he left the house and said goodbye, his voice sounded hoarse, and I don’t doubt that he may have shed some tears by himself.

I went about my morning, getting ready for work, feeling numb, sad, angry and confused. I didn’t want to go to work, but staying home wasn’t going to do me any good, and quite frankly I had a lot to do at work. I figured it could be a good distraction, I was just hoping everyone at work would sense my mood and give me space. I pulled into the parking lot, and got out my phone to reply to J’s text. He asked how I was doing, I told him I was resigned to the outcome but it still made me really sad, and mad that this had to be so hard for us. That I thought no matter the outcome I would feel some sort of relief, but I don’t. He agreed, he thought it would be easier knowing, but it sucks.

He told me he loved me more than anything, and I told him I loved him too. I told him that even if someone had told me, in our first year of marriage, first year together, or whenever, that this was how our life together would go I still wouldn’t change a thing. He agreed, neither would he. Of course it was at this point that the tears started to brim in my eyes, but I had to blink them back and go to work. I didn’t get the space I had hoped for but I had a busy, distracting day and I got through it. J and I sort of stayed away from the elephant in the room yesterday evening. I didn’t know if it was too soon to start talking about our next move, or if we still needed time to absorb, but he broached the subject and we started to discuss the future (I’ll save that for another post).

Today I feel a bit less sad, but still really lost and confused. I thought it would be easy to move on, knowing this isn’t the end of our fertility journey, but it’s not. I don’t have to work today, but J did. He text me from work and told me he’s having a tough time today. It breaks my heart to see him this way. I think all along, these 18 months, I’ve been mourning each cycle, so once one is done I feel renewed with some semblance of hope for the next one. But for him, I think the months have compounded, and culminated into this epic feeling of failure, and despair and I don’t know how to help. This journey is experienced very differently between the male and female perspectives (or to be fair to same sex couples, the partner who is undergoing the treatment). I just don’t really know where to turn at this point.

The future is open to endless possibilities right now, which is both exciting and frightening. I do feel as though the TTC weight has been lifted, but right now we are under a blanket of sadness. Once we are able come out the other side, I think we will be able to look forward to a fresh start but right now it’s just a fresh wound. Or rather, the same wound that’s been picked open once again.

So now that I’ve sort of talked myself in circles, and haven’t solved anything, sorted out my emotions or made any decisions, I think I should leave it at that until I have something more poignant to say.

12 thoughts on “Spinning

  1. Lamesauce babe 😦 I will say, that your title felt directed at me, because I’m at the tail end of AF (I’ve eaten everything that tastes good and the pantry is now empty) and Mr. MLACS is out of the country, so I FINALLY used that gym membership we signed up for a week ago and went to “spinning class” today. I would say that it’s the first time I’ve felt in-control again since our BFN a week ago. I don’t know why I’m telling you this. *sigh* I hope you feel better soon. XO

    • Thank you. It’s funny that you say that about eating everything. I made a nice dinner and brownies yesterday and as I was bringing J a brownie, I told him “I don’t want you to eat your feelings but I don’t know how to help you besides feed you well.” We have been slacking off on the gym (besides yoga, faithfully once a week). Need to get life back on track.

  2. I’m so very sorry… I really have no words as although I am going through this process, I haven’t gotten as far as you have yet. I honestly can’t even imagine what you’re going through, so I won’t pretend I do. And while I’m not an overly religious person, this process has taught me to at least try to trust God and his path for us. I will be praying for you and your husband.

  3. you are so right, men and women go through this differently. I know that my husband has said before that his biggest thing is that as a man, he likes to fix things and this is something he can’t fix…he can’t fix my pcos, he can’t fix my hurt, he can’t fix my tears. :/ Praying for you guys!

  4. I hated this news more than I hated my news. I am so sorry, lady. I wish I could treat you to a bottle of wine and whatever else you could need. The gym will be there tomorrow. Thinking of you, this is just the new beginning to a better ending. Hugs, and lots of them.

    • Thank you, it’s getting a bit easier now that the initial shock of realization is wearing off but I get scared when I think if having to do ivf in the future… Trying not to get ahead of myself.

Pssst, I'd love to hear from you, leave a comment!

